Don’t Drown Your Flame

Posted on January 21, 2011

0


In my bathroom I have two candles that I light every morning instead of turning on the light. The candles allow my pupils to adjust slowly and see where I am going without a blinding light. The other morning I noticed one of the candles losing its flame. When I took a look at it, I noticed that the melted wax was almost flooding the wick. I had experienced this problem before when candles burn low and the flame is fading. But I never thought to do what I did that day.

I poured the excess wax in the toilet and relit the candle. Afterwards, the flame was big and as strong as a new candle. I just needed to make some room for the wick to burn. The melted wax was literally drowning the flame.

In that moment, I was reminded that one of my goals this year is to get rid of the excess in my life. Over the last couple of years, I have found my passion and energy drowning in all of the “excess” things I had going on. As a result, my flame for the most important things was not as strong as it needed to be. So, I have vowed to narrow my focus and be more selective with my time and talent.

What about you? Have you identified some things that may be “drowning your flame”? What are some things you are doing to get rid of the excess? I would love to hear your thoughts.

Posted in: Uncategorized