The Day Before

Posted on September 15, 2010

1


The other day I was on a conference call with a few guys talking about rest. You know the thing we want more of and never seem to get enough of. For most of us, life is going 80 MPH in a 55 PMH zone, Monday through Friday and sometimes on the weekend. This pace increases the chances of a physical crash and/or rapid wear and tear, just like it would if you always drove your car like that.

I started taking inventory of what happens when I feel like I need to crash, sleep for half the day on Saturday or just be a couch potato. And it really came down to one thing. Everything I did the day or the night before effected the next day. I know that is not a real groundbreaking revelation. But the more things I cram into my day, gives me less time to prepare for the next and less time to sleep. Eventually it just catches up to me and I’m forced to pull over.

So, for me, it is all about the day before. I have to do these basic things so I don’t crash.

1. Think about what I have to do the next day. (Don’t add too many things to the schedule.)

2. Give myself time to prepare the day before. (Clothes, prepare lunch for the kids, etc.)

3. Get off the computer and get 7-8 hours of sleep. (It can usually wait until tomorrow.)

4. Start the day right. (For me it’s prayer/meditation and breakfast.)

For the record, I’m way off this week. I’m still working on being consistent. I got about 6.5 hours last night. How are you doing in this area?

Posted in: Uncategorized