Summer Reflections

Posted on September 1, 2010

0


So, it is the first day of September and summer is pretty much done, which means my tweeting/blogging mini-sabbatical is over as well. During the last several weeks, I had the chance to process some thoughts, have a few conversations with people I value and simply brainstorm about life. I wanted to share just a few of those reflections and give you permission to ask about my progress in these areas in the future.

I don’t retreat enough. You really don’t realize the pace of your life until you stop for more than a second.

I need to rely on my friends more. There are more things going on with me than I share with my inner circle. Sometimes I am too private.

I need to narrow my focus. Sometimes you convince yourself that you can handle more than you should. I am cutting away or passing on anything that does not fit into my “priority” buckets.

I can’t force things. Sometimes a deep love or passion for something or someone will cause you to push too hard. I can’t make everything happen; sometimes I need to let things evolve.

I can get by with less. You don’t know how much you don’t need until you don’t have it. I was forced to let some things go.

I need to be more consistent in the most important areas. My faith, family and finances have not received my best effort or attention at times.

Now that the confessional is done, it’ s time for some action. I feel better already!

Posted in: Uncategorized