20 Years in the Making

Posted on June 14, 2010

0


“Most overnight success stories are 20 years in the making.” – Jim Collins

That quote was taken from a recent talk given by best-selling author Jim Collins, who has researched the rise and fall of America’s best companies. Of all the things I have read and heard from Jim, I think this quote strikes me the hardest because I don’t want to wait 20 years. And I know you probably don’t either.

Basically, we want what we want, when we want it. If now is an option, most of us would take it. Because we want our daily efforts of investing our heart and soul, practicing for hours, pushing harder, studying, sleep deprivation and other stresses to be a short-term way of life. But it is in the discipline of grinding everyday that you find success. The habits you form in the struggle become the foundation on which your success can stand.

So, I live in the struggle today hoping that tomorrow will be the day I make it, knowing that the time in between may vary. (Hopefully it is a little less than 20 years.)

Posted in: Uncategorized